University of Sussex

Review Breakdown

Campus / University Buildings
Learning Facilities
Sports Facilities
Student Union
Career Services
Organisation
Showing only 4 star reviews. Clear filter

Reviews

3 November 2018

The campus has a lovely community to feel and having everything together is lovely. The buildings are a bit outdated and navigation isn't that easy but the everything needed for your course is accesible and perfectly organised.

3 November 2018

Very concrete campus, it's quite windy sometimes. There are alot of seagulls, which can be nice. Lots of books in the library, which can be nice. Yeah, it's not bad as it goes.

3 November 2018

Good uni. Modules are good and flexible. Academic advisors are helpful and you get a lot of support from lecturers. Services are good. Buildings are a bit old.

3 November 2018

Large beautiful campus just outside brighton. Gives the option for one to experience both on campus living and city living as a student, which is invaluable. Great selection of courses with the option to combine your degree with many subjects. There is also the option in every degree to do a year abroad studying at a partner institution. Overall a great uni, but low contact hours and absent staff are common

3 November 2018

Sussex is a wonderful university, with great staff and students, and nice general facilities. I would definitely recommend studying here. Good campus - nice places to eat and hang out, however the uni campus is let down by the amount of quiet places to sit and study. The library in particular was often full to the point of people waiting for free spaces, and when you have a short time between lectures and seminars to do some work, this is far from ideal. Once seated though, the library is a great place with a good atmosphere and plenty of books and resources to help with revision and essays. My course was enjoyable - I studied a joint degree of Politics and Sociology, and I found that the two subjects both compliment each other in terms of content, and allowed me to explore a wide range of topics. As well as this, they were both organised very similarly and well which meant that it was easy to stay on top of my work. Judging from friends courses as well, Sussex in general seemed to be very on-top of organisation, with many tutors marking work early and other staff making extra effort to communicate and answer questions from students at all points of the year.

3 November 2018

The campus is situated in a nice area, not spread across town which is useful. The surrounding public transport is decent with train and bus links from town and surrounding areas directly to the university. Lack of a decent student union could be seen as a drawback to the university.

3 November 2018

I am hugely enjoying my time at Sussex. I am studying Politics and International Relations (IR). The course is very interesting and most of the tutors and lecturers are very engaging. The only downside to the course in my opinion is that there are no IR seminars, we just have two 'interactive' lectures per week (compared to 2 seminars and 2 lectures in Politics). We always run out of time at the end for the Q&A and many people don't feel comfortable raising points/asking questions in a room of over 100 people! Sussex campus is a lovely place to be especially in the warmer months when everyone is sitting outside on the grass. The facilities on campus are great, especially the huge library and the gyms. Most of the buildings themselves are very modern and comfortable. There is so much access to careers services, like the careers fair at Amex Stadium, help from careers advisers and the various other careers events that take place on Sussex Campus.

3 November 2018

On the whole I really love Sussex uni, I've had the best three years here and have been provided with so many opportunities - with this uni I've been to America and China in the same year! The campus is very cosy and easy to navigate

3 November 2018

I entered this university through clearing. My exprerience with gaining accommodation was not good as I found out that the university had acctepeted me knowing that I would not receive a campus accommodation. This was not such a pleasant surprise as I have missed out on this experience. I have however had a good experience with my university course. My academic advisor is very helpful and is always willing to guide and support me. My lecturers are all very attentive and informative about the content of the modules and they make studying that much more easy.

3 November 2018

The campus is very nice, there is lots of greenery and places to sit during the summer. The campus looks inviting. Facilities are okay depending on where you go /what course you're on. Some of the buildings are very old, but most of the buildings date back to 70's abs most haven't been done up since then it seems.some buildings are brand new and very pleasent to use. My course is well structured and im really enjoying it - there is loads of academic and personal support for students. The student union have a few cafes and bars around campus which is a good way to meet people the food is so good if not a little expensive.

3 November 2018

I started at sussex in september and have fallen in love with the campus and surrounding wilderness. Now autumn is setting in and all the leaves are becoming orange it is beautiful. I love the buildings on campus and that every building has a lecture theatre, with the ones I have lectures in very comfy. the course is very intense, and I am drowning in assignments, but I am enjoying the content and find all the extra reading very interesting.

3 November 2018

I came here to study my masters. The university is huge. With lots of greenary .The classrooms are pretty big and adequate..the teaching staff is friendly . Union is very helpful.

3 November 2018

Perhaps one of the best things about Sussex is the layout of the campus. Unlike most universities, Sussex university includes halls within its campus. Everything is in one "town" almost like. This being the case, it's easy to navigate around, easy to meet new people within close proximity and also easy and quickly accessible to your lectures and seminars.

3 November 2018

The campus is lively, safe and has everything you would need whilst at university on site. The facilities are alright but a swimming pool addition would be good. My course of psychology is a brilliant department offering support when needed. The student union should put on more events

3 November 2018

The uni is great! It's a great mix of old and new and the fact that it's a campus based university with everything in one place just makes it even better!

3 November 2018

the campus is quite modern with loads of modern and state of art facilities. the lecturers very enthusiastic and expert in their own fields.

6 July 2018

I have thoroughly enjoyed attending this uni. With people coming from many different backgrounds I have got a real taste of the multinational experience, considering it is a top uni. Facilities on campus as well are up to high standards, with a very good library and good shops and bars for social life. My course does have some flaws I would say, with teaching seeming a bit lazy, and feedback being abit basic. Other than that the course is enjoyable at times.

5 July 2018

The university of Sussex is an amazing place to go. It’s a very liberal university where free Speech and protests are welcomed. Brighton is a great place for students with loads of opportunities. Despite this, I didn’t feel like there was a large student union presence or a very studenty atmosphere at Sussex or in Brighton compared to Cardiff or Bristol university.

3 July 2018

The campus is modern and clean, with each buildings representing a shape (e.g. camera, books). The campus is nice and there's a lot of green around the campus. In my informatics department, the facilities are excellent with the latest technologies. The course (computer science Foundation year) has helped me lay the foundation to stepping up to first year.

29 June 2018

The campus is beautiful; it's the only one in the UK that is situated within the grounds of a national park. The university is also research-oriented and lecturers are extremely passionate and knowledgeable about their chosen fields. Facilities are generally OK, but suffer from overcrowding and excess demand (i.e. computers, library space, etc.). The Student's Union is very inclusive and works hard to provide students with safe spaces, opportunities, activities and creative outlets.

28 June 2018

Very busy campus, I would argue too many students. But it is really pleasant and the library is a fantastic resource. The location is lovely and the teaching staff know their subject inside and out 8/10 times. Oftentimes the workload can be overwhelming and support is harder to come by than advertised but it’s worthwhwile and I would definitely recommend the university for anybody who is willing to put in the effort for their degree.

19 June 2018

Halls are a bit shabby but fun. Course (English Lit) is great and there is a lot of support throughout the uni if you have any problems.

14 June 2018

Sussex universe provides the highest level of teaching for all students within the business and management course. The only thing is with the following elective which is finance the tutors and people who lead the lectures take the easy root and do not record all the lectures compared to other subjects.

10 June 2018

Lovely campus with a whole range of things to do for students! The MBBS course in partnership with the university of Brighton, is an fantastic course which prides it self with high student satisfaction for the recent years. Very supporting and adequately equips students to become good doctors.

123...3
Next