University of Sussex

Review Breakdown

Campus / University Buildings
Learning Facilities
Sports Facilities
Student Union
Career Services
Organisation

Reviews

3 November 2018

The campus has a lovely community to feel and having everything together is lovely. The buildings are a bit outdated and navigation isn't that easy but the everything needed for your course is accesible and perfectly organised.

3 November 2018

Sussex is welcoming and inclusive. My course (International Development BA Hons) is amazing, the lecturers and tutors are super interesting to listen to and their teaching is insightful.

3 November 2018

The campus is acceptable although intially you can get easily lost as sign posts are not marked well. Experience was bad due to strikes, faulty Resources, bad IT services, sometimes long waits to get any responses from lectureres.

3 November 2018

Sussex is a nice campus with lots of facilities. However, the uni needs to improve its teaching quality.

3 November 2018

Very concrete campus, it's quite windy sometimes. There are alot of seagulls, which can be nice. Lots of books in the library, which can be nice. Yeah, it's not bad as it goes.

3 November 2018

Good uni. Modules are good and flexible. Academic advisors are helpful and you get a lot of support from lecturers. Services are good. Buildings are a bit old.

3 November 2018

Large beautiful campus just outside brighton. Gives the option for one to experience both on campus living and city living as a student, which is invaluable. Great selection of courses with the option to combine your degree with many subjects. There is also the option in every degree to do a year abroad studying at a partner institution. Overall a great uni, but low contact hours and absent staff are common

3 November 2018

Sussex is a wonderful university, with great staff and students, and nice general facilities. I would definitely recommend studying here. Good campus - nice places to eat and hang out, however the uni campus is let down by the amount of quiet places to sit and study. The library in particular was often full to the point of people waiting for free spaces, and when you have a short time between lectures and seminars to do some work, this is far from ideal. Once seated though, the library is a great place with a good atmosphere and plenty of books and resources to help with revision and essays. My course was enjoyable - I studied a joint degree of Politics and Sociology, and I found that the two subjects both compliment each other in terms of content, and allowed me to explore a wide range of topics. As well as this, they were both organised very similarly and well which meant that it was easy to stay on top of my work. Judging from friends courses as well, Sussex in general seemed to be very on-top of organisation, with many tutors marking work early and other staff making extra effort to communicate and answer questions from students at all points of the year.

3 November 2018

Great good amazing lovely and peaceful it's amazing so far and I'm enjoying it even better!!! I am enjoying everything so far! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

3 November 2018

The campus is situated in a nice area, not spread across town which is useful. The surrounding public transport is decent with train and bus links from town and surrounding areas directly to the university. Lack of a decent student union could be seen as a drawback to the university.

3 November 2018

My Uni has really good deals for all the students. For eg. Every Tuesday there is Falmer market where one can buy fresh and relatively cheap vegetables and fruits. Also there are 200 different societies which includes almost all fields and every week there are events organized by these societies. My favourite is Dog walking society and as the campus is really big there are good places for such activities and other sports too. There is also a Buddy scheme event which has interesting set of events like Yoga, Zumba, Ballet and its free for all students.

3 November 2018

I love it here! It's amazing, educational and very fun. I have learnt a lot about this place and I have found it very easy to co exist among people different from me

3 November 2018

The campus is nice, not the most modern overall and some what old fashioned but some new facilities. The course isn't run that smoothly and feels a bit up in the air at times, but with contact made it can be organised. The student union is great, very inclusive and raises awareness of current issues while giving everyone the opportunity to join.

3 November 2018

Really like the university it has great facilities however I think that it could really improve the student union as there is not much to it? Maybe add a Club as that will really up it's game

3 November 2018

I am hugely enjoying my time at Sussex. I am studying Politics and International Relations (IR). The course is very interesting and most of the tutors and lecturers are very engaging. The only downside to the course in my opinion is that there are no IR seminars, we just have two 'interactive' lectures per week (compared to 2 seminars and 2 lectures in Politics). We always run out of time at the end for the Q&A and many people don't feel comfortable raising points/asking questions in a room of over 100 people! Sussex campus is a lovely place to be especially in the warmer months when everyone is sitting outside on the grass. The facilities on campus are great, especially the huge library and the gyms. Most of the buildings themselves are very modern and comfortable. There is so much access to careers services, like the careers fair at Amex Stadium, help from careers advisers and the various other careers events that take place on Sussex Campus.

3 November 2018

On the whole I really love Sussex uni, I've had the best three years here and have been provided with so many opportunities - with this uni I've been to America and China in the same year! The campus is very cosy and easy to navigate

3 November 2018

Really good university which has immense support and counseling for students, always looking out for the welfare of individuals and putting their emotions first before the work and allowing them to work at their own pace and push them. Great facilities and campus, although the shops on site are very very expensive

3 November 2018

I entered this university through clearing. My exprerience with gaining accommodation was not good as I found out that the university had acctepeted me knowing that I would not receive a campus accommodation. This was not such a pleasant surprise as I have missed out on this experience. I have however had a good experience with my university course. My academic advisor is very helpful and is always willing to guide and support me. My lecturers are all very attentive and informative about the content of the modules and they make studying that much more easy.

3 November 2018

A good uni, great location and nightlife. Big library but can be hard to find study spaces. Accommodation is overpriced but thats common with most universities

3 November 2018

Brilliant environment to work in as well as socialise, due to the number of cafes and study spaces. Two brilliant bars, with great food and good prices. Speaking as a maths student, the course I take is very well structured to help you succeed without it being too easy!

3 November 2018

The campus is very nice, there is lots of greenery and places to sit during the summer. The campus looks inviting. Facilities are okay depending on where you go /what course you're on. Some of the buildings are very old, but most of the buildings date back to 70's abs most haven't been done up since then it seems.some buildings are brand new and very pleasent to use. My course is well structured and im really enjoying it - there is loads of academic and personal support for students. The student union have a few cafes and bars around campus which is a good way to meet people the food is so good if not a little expensive.

3 November 2018

The university is everything I expected. Great location and facilities, lovely atmosphere, overall amazing experience. My degree has great teaching and lecturers, I'm in between 20-30 hours a week - definitely worth the money.

3 November 2018

I started at sussex in september and have fallen in love with the campus and surrounding wilderness. Now autumn is setting in and all the leaves are becoming orange it is beautiful. I love the buildings on campus and that every building has a lecture theatre, with the ones I have lectures in very comfy. the course is very intense, and I am drowning in assignments, but I am enjoying the content and find all the extra reading very interesting.

3 November 2018

I came here to study my masters. The university is huge. With lots of greenary .The classrooms are pretty big and adequate..the teaching staff is friendly . Union is very helpful.

Next