Aberystwyth University

Review Breakdown

Campus / University Buildings
Learning Facilities
Sports Facilities
Student Union
Career Services
Organisation
Showing only 4 star reviews. Clear filter

Reviews

26 January 2019

Good university, though very small l, Moreover, there are elements such as lectures lacking interest in subject areas, though the inverse is also true with truly passionate lecturer that bring lectures to life

26 January 2019

A great uni that I would recommend to my family at any point. The accommodation is fab if you get good flatmates.

26 January 2019

While attending Aberystwyth University i have had the best learning experience possible, not just academic but mentally, Before attending i was a shy and quiet person who always avoided social situation. Once i began attending I was introduced to all the clubs, societies and support the university had on offer, at first i was very shut away to attending any clubs, and the university accepted that and understood that it would take time, but i did take up the support they had on offer as i felt i needed it. This was when i really began to grow into my personality that i have now. I never knew i could be part of the crowd yet be so different and being accepted for it. Academic wise, I've never met a mean and stubborn lecturer, every lecturer will have office hours of which anyone can attend and ask for advice, they were always super welcoming and friendly, even if its the little things, it always went a long way for me. The way the lectures are structured also are great, they understand that some students will fall behind and need to catch up and so they make sure to record lectures and allow them to be available online for all students to view, which is great because the absent students can catch up on lectures and then be aware for the next lecture. Overall i would highly recommend Aberystwyth University, as it such a safe and welcoming environment.

26 January 2019

Aber Uni is class on a whole. Lectures are always quality content, with online recordings of the lectures available at any time, so missing lectures is no excuse for falling behind! A mixture of lectures, seminars and tutorials for all modules, and personal tutors, departmental leaders and impartial help always available. A society or sport for everyone. Accommodation not the best unless you pay for the most expensive student flats, but that's the same with most unis. Library redone on one floor, but maintenance of buildings overall fantastic. Gym membership is ferrers if you live in university owned accommodation, but if you live in town it is quite a trek up to campus (it's all uphill!)

4 June 2018

Nice place, it's a bit out of the way in terms of cities though. All in all good uni, some minor attention to detail parts wouldn't go amiss.

30 April 2018

There is an abundance of facilities at Aberysytwyth University, from the Hugh Owen Library to the Sports Gym. The campus is situated on the top of Aberystwyth and boasts a spectacular view of the town and sea. I decided to study International Politics here as the department is one of the oldest, yet esteemed in the world.

20 April 2018

Overall Aber uni is everything and more. It’s situated in a small, quiet seaside town that has brilliant nightlife. All of my lectures are very helpful and are always willing to give their time to see to any needs.

7 April 2018

I study Film and Television Studies and I am absolutely loving it. The tutors are really friendly and helpful, explaining modules very well. The equipment is really good too. Each year we upgrade with equipment such as cameras and mics. I am currently taking a creative studio module, where we are learning and participating in live television production. The studio and gallery are all up to scratch with industry standard equipment, which means we will have quality experience when looking for jobs.

6 April 2018

Brilliant uni! I've loved my time here, everyone has been so lovely and welcoming. Lecturers willing to help and science practicals are always fun.

4 April 2018

Up to date facilities to what I need to use. Few buildings that are older need work done. Course can be interesting but mostly boring. Don’t go to the students union as I focus on my assignments ahead of drinking

29 March 2018

Aberystwyth is a lovely university town on the very coast of West Wales. It's very inclusive with the town, just down the bottom of the hill. Taxis are cheap - only £4-£5 to go up the hill to the uni/accommodation from anywhere in town. It's a lovely university with great lecturers, mostly all of whom have written their own works!

9 March 2018

This uni is great to me mainly because of the course (physical geography) where it feels complete i.e. lecturer's seem very interested in what they teach, content is very broad and interesting and the facilities may not all be amazing but are of a very high standard generally. The people are all friendly and there's a homely feel to the campus. The students union is good although the actual building and facilities here could do with an refurbishment. I feel the lecturer's deserve much more than they get from the uni at the moment for example the most recent strikes due to pensions.

22 February 2018

Aberystwyth University is good but they keep changing my course modules, even after I applied for certain ones

9 February 2018

The University itself is a great place to study. A calm seaside town gives a good vibe all your round, especially with the amazing surrounding or mountains and the sea, this is a one of a kind University town